The Church of Our Lady of the Sign
Palekh District, Krasnoye Village (3 km from Palekh)
The current stone building of the Church of Our Lady of the Sign replaced the wooden church that existed previously. The charter to build the new church was granted by the Bishop of the Vladimir and Suzdal eparchy Ksenofont Troepolsky. The construction was managed by the landlord Petr Borodulin so-called Churchbuilder and was finished in 1804.
By 1897 there were three altars in the church. The altar of Our Lady of the Sign is the main one and there are altars of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker and of the Holy Martyr Paraskeva installed in the warm chapel.
The traditional church decorations such as iconostasis, chandeliers and lamps have been preserved to this day. The original murals with scenes from the Old and New Testaments have been conserved and still decorate the interiors of the church. The masters of the famous Palekh icon-painting school decorated the church with thematic and ornamental technically proficient paintings in the middle of the nineteenth century.
At the beginning of the twentieth century the artists from Ivan Parilov's icon-painting studio restored the church in the Italian manner of the Palekh foreigner style. To make the compositions of the frescoes the artists used biblical subjects of Julius Schnorr's prints and works of French graphic artists.
The Church of Our Lady of the Sign is a unique monument not only of Russian but also of European culture.