The Church of Saint Michael and the Saint Source of Venerable Leonty
Furmanov District, Mikhaylovskoe Village (30 km from Plyos, 45 km from Ivanovo)
The church in Mikhailovskoye village was founded in 1701 by the monks of the Ipatiev Monastery. In 1819, a stone church with a bell tower was built with funds donated by parishioners. For more than 200 years divine services have not stopped in the church. It remained without the abbot for only a few years at the end of World War II.
From 1955 to 1972, the Monk Leonty, Archimandrite Mikhailovsky served here suffering repeated persecutions by the Soviet regime and in the last years of his life became a gracious elder. Not far from the church there is a holy spring that opened thanks to the prayers of the monk.
The unique shrines of the church are the relics of Leonty Mikhailovsky.